God loves you!

God has put on my heart to create a blog to share my journey and my discoveries as I walk with Him daily.

I don’t claim to be a theological expert.  I’m just an imperfect child of God, saved by His blood and promised eternal life!  I’m growing in my faith daily as I commit my life to Him.


 

Just a little background on me……I was raised in the Christian Reformed Church and in a Christian home.  God called out to me when I was ten years old, at summer camp, and I accepted His forgiveness and asked Jesus into my heart.  At sixteen, I stood up in church and made profession of faith – I publicly stated that I am a believer and that I’m committed to living my life for Jesus Christ.  A few years later, I was introduced to the Vineyard Church, which was much more charismatic than the church I was raised in.  Shortly after that, I received the baptism of the Holy Spirit and I felt like I had been awakened from a long sleep!  I began to listen to God’s voice and walk in His ways more and more.

Since then I have had bountiful times and dry times in my walk with Christ.  Several years ago, after my first marriage ended, I quit going to church for a few years and my communion with God all but stopped.  Sure, I still prayed when I got in a tight spot or when I was really sad about something in my life, but God was not a fundamental part of my daily existence.

A couple of years ago, just before I was remarried, God started calling me back to Him.  I felt His conviction for staying too far away from Him for too long and I started praying and reading the Bible again, and our family joined an incredible church.  Since then I’ve really begun to study the Bible passionately for the first time in years.  I began by disciplining myself to read the Bible every morning, and now I can’t wait to get up and open the Word!  If I start my day without it, I feel like I’ve skipped breakfast!  God has made me hungry for His Word, and I long to understand it more and live the way He wants me to.

God is reminding me, as He has drawn me back to Him, that He is so faithful.  His love never fails and His faithfulness lasts forever. (Psalm 89:5-8).

Even if run away from Him, He still loves me!   “If we have no faith, He will still be faithful to us, for He cannot go against what He is.”  (2 Timothy 2:13 – NLV)

Have you found yourself further from God than you’d like to be lately?  He made you, He loves you and He wants you to be close to Him.  No matter how we act or how far we run, God is always faithful.  Faithfulness is His very character!

All you have to do is start talking to Him and pick up your Bible.  I highly recommend the New Living Translation One Year Bible.  The NLT is a version that is easy to read and understand, and it allows you to read through the entire Bible in one year.  Each day you’ll read from the Old Testament, the New Testament, Psalms and Proverbs.  As you can see from the photo, mine is getting dog-eared from excessive use!  LOL

NLT One Year Bible


 

Lord, I pray that you will help me encourage my friends with my words.  Thank you for bringing me close to you again and putting a desire in me to read and understand your Word.  Thank you that no matter what I do, You will always be faithful.  Thank you that your love for me never fails!


 

I hope that I can encourage you as you go through the inevitable struggles and pain that life brings.  I hope that God will use my words to bring you closer to Him.  I know that I’ll be encouraged by the words you share with me, too!

 

 

Leave a Reply

