June 29, 2016

Remember the Disney animated movie Aladdin from way back in 1992?  The theme song of the movie goes something like this: “A whole new world, a dazzling place I never knew.  When I’m way up here, it’s crystal clear, that now I’m in a whole new world with you.

A whole new world, a hundred thousand things to see, I’m like a shooting star, I’ve come so far, I can’t go back to where I used to be.”

night sky

A whole new world.  That’s your life when Jesus is living in your heart.

“When anyone is in Christ, it is a whole new world.  The old things are gone; suddenly, everything is new!”  2 Corinthians 5:17 (ERV)

I don’t want to admit how many times the devil whispers in my ear and tells me that I am a failure, that I will never get it right.  That because I’ve made mistakes in the past, I am not worthy of God’s blessings and forgiveness.

But God has something much different to say to us, through the words of David:

You see, God takes all our crimes—our seemingly inexhaustible sins—and removes them.
    As far as east is from the west, He removes them from us.”  Psalm 103: 12 (The Voice)

And again, our loving Father speaks to us through the prophet Isaiah:

“I, yes, I alone am he who blots away your sins for my own sake and will never think of them again.”  Isaiah 43:25 (The Living Bible)

You may have noticed that God says that He takes away our sins for His sake (not for ours).  He’s saying that He does not want to carry around our sins and remember all of the ways we’ve rebelled against Him; He forgets our sins so He is not burdened with them.  The forgetting is  not for us, but for Him!

Did you see that He takes our sins away as far as the east is from the west?  Have you ever stopped to consider that?  Why does God say “from the east to the west?”  Why not from the north to the south?  I think it’s because there is a North Pole and a South Pole – specific places that are only a certain distance apart.  Granted, it is a LONG distance, but not in comparison to how far east is removed from west.

If you start walking east, you will walk all the way around the world and you will come back to the same point, eventually, but you will never reach “the west!”  God takes our sins so far away that there is no way to measure the distance, and He forgets them for His own benefit!

So….I can listen to the lies of Satan, telling me that I will never be good enough, or I can choose to believe and receive God’s forgiveness, which is promised over and over again in the Bible. (There’s plenty more I want to say about forgiveness, but I’ll save that for another day!  🙂

When I’ve been born again into Christ everything is new.  The old is GONE.  God doesn’t remember any of those incredibly stupid things I’ve done because I have asked for His forgiveness.

I can go forward in a whole new world, where there are a hundred thousand things to see, and where I can never go back to where I used to be!

 


 

Thank you, Lord, for your unending forgiveness.  Thank you that since I’ve asked Jesus to live in my heart, the whole world is a new place for me.  Thank you that you forget all of my sins, all of the ways I have hurt you, and that you never think of them again!  Please help me to go forward in your grace and to live the way You want me to live.  Open my ears to hear your voice and please give me the courage to follow your leading, today and every day!

2 thoughts on “June 29, 2016

Leave a Reply

