July 24, 2016

I woke up very sad this morning. In fact, I’ve been feeling discouraged lately, for no specific reason that I can pinpoint.  My New Testament reading for today was from Romans 8……all I can say is “Wow!”  God spoke to me very clearly through that passage this morning!

When I started reading, I was crying from sadness, and by the time I finished, I was crying from happiness.  (Obviously much more preferable!  LOL)   God is so amazing and magnificent!

God hugs us through his word

26 And the Holy Spirit helps us in our weakness. For example, we don’t know what God wants us to pray for. But the Holy Spirit prays for us with groanings that cannot be expressed in words. 27 And the Father who knows all hearts knows what the Spirit is saying, for the Spirit pleads for us believers in harmony with God’s own will. 28 And we know that God causes everything to work together for the good of those who love God and are called according to his purpose for them.  (Romans 8:26-28, NLT – emphasis mine)

This morning I didn’t know where to begin praying, but it was immensely comforting to be reminded that the Holy Spirit prays for me in a way that reaches infinitely deeper than verbal language, and that God the Father understands perfectly what the Spirit is saying.

And to recall that God works everything for good for those who love Him!  What a reassurance –  I could never read or hear it too many times!

31 What shall we say about such wonderful things as these? If God is for us, who can ever be against us? 32 Since he did not spare even his own Son but gave him up for us all, won’t he also give us everything else?33 Who dares accuse us whom God has chosen for his own? No one—for God himself has given us right standing with himself. 34 Who then will condemn us? No one—for Christ Jesus died for us and was raised to life for us, and he is sitting in the place of honor at God’s right hand, pleading for us.  (Romans 8:31-34, NLT – emphasis mine)

If God is for us, who can be against us?  Just let that sink in for a minute.  If God is for us, who can be against us?  I know that God is for me, therefore I can never be overcome by any powers or people who come against me!

No matter how hopeless I feel, God is for me and He’s working everything out for my benefit and well-being.  That’s something to be truly thankful for!  I hope it puts a smile on your face, too.

35 Can anything ever separate us from Christ’s love? Does it mean he no longer loves us if we have trouble or calamity, or are persecuted, or hungry, or destitute, or in danger, or threatened with death? 36 (As the Scriptures say, “For your sake we are killed every day; we are being slaughtered like sheep.”) 37 No, despite all these things, overwhelming victory is ours through Christ, who loved us.  (Romans 8:35-37, NLT)

 

What a comfort to be reminded that NOTHING can ever separate me from Christ’s love!  On top of that, I am promised overwhelming victory through Christ, because He loves me!  No matter how helpless or hopeless I feel, God never changes and He never stops loving me or working things for my good.

38 And I am convinced that nothing can ever separate us from God’s love. Neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither our fears for today nor our worries about tomorrow—not even the powers of hell can separate us from God’s love. 39 No power in the sky above or in the earth below—indeed, nothing in all creation will ever be able to separate us from the love of God that is revealed in Christ Jesus our Lord. (Romans 8:38-39, NLT – emphasis mine)

Paul certainly didn’t have a cake-walk of a life.  He was mocked and persecuted and thrown in jail because of his beliefs, and still he dedicated his life to teaching people about Jesus and His great love.  Through all of those trials, Paul was still convinced that nothing could pull him apart from the love of Christ!

It doesn’t matter what hardships or set-backs I go through, how much I worry about the future, or who may have evil intentions toward me – there is nothing that can disconnect me from the perfect love of God that was revealed in Christ’s death and resurrection!  What a breathtaking (and perfectly timed) promise!

 


 

Thank you, Lord, for sending your Holy Spirit to be my Intercessor and Comforter.  Thank you that although I don’t know how to pray with clarity, the Spirit prays for me, and you understand it all.  Thank you for working all things for my good and well-being.  I believe that you have a special plan and purpose for me.  Thank you for designing my perfectly, and for planning every moment of my life, even before I was born.  Thank you for loving me and seeing me, not through my failures, but through the atoning blood of Christ Jesus!  Because you are for me, nothing can stand against me!  Thank you for giving up your only Son so I might be worthy of your love and grace, and have eternal life with you, instead of being a slave to sin forever.  I worship and praise you because you don’t accuse me, but instead you choose me!  Thank you for seeing me as holy and righteous through Jesus’ perfect sacrifice.  Daddy, I know that nothing can disconnect me from your love.  Even though I have trouble, problems, and struggles, you are always with me and you’ll never stop loving me.  Thank you that overwhelming victory is mine through the power of Christ!  No matter where I am and no matter what happens, I know that nothing can separate me from your perfect, unending love! 

One thought on “July 24, 2016

Leave a Reply

