August 28, 2016

Suddenly, although the weather is still hot, summer seems to be over.  School is back in session, sports and music practices are in full swing, life is becoming hectic.  I find myself stressed out multiple times a day, wondering how to get everyone where they need to go, how to get everything done.

And through the chaos, God says, “Come and rest at my feet.”

While Jesus and his disciples were traveling, Jesus entered a village where a woman named Martha welcomed him as a guest.  She had a sister named Mary, who sat at the Lord’s feet and listened to his message. By contrast, Martha was preoccupied with getting everything ready for their meal. So Martha came to him and said, “Lord, don’t you care that my sister has left me to prepare the table all by myself? Tell her to help me.”

The Lord answered, “Martha, Martha, you are worried and distracted by many things. One thing is necessary. Mary has chosen the better part. It won’t be taken away from her.”  (Luke 10:38-42, CEB, emphasis mine)

profile pic for vinted

God put this verse in front of me this week, in the midst of my stress and frustration:

Whenever I feel my foot slipping,
    your faithful love steadies me, Lord.
When my anxieties multiply,
    your comforting calms me down.    (Psalm 94:18-19, CEB)

While I was trying to juggle four different schedules, numerous appointments, figuring out what to cook for dinner, and how to get the car repaired, I needed to hear that.  I need to know and remember that when my anxieties multiply, God’s comforting is there to calm me down.

There’s a song by Jonny Diaz that speaks perfectly into stressful situations such as these.  The song is called Breathe, and I highly recommend looking it up on YouTube and listening to it.

The chorus invites us to:         Breathe, just breathe,

Come and rest at my feet,

And be, just be,

Chaos calls, but all you really need

Is to just breathe.

(Jonny Diaz, Breathe, 2015, Centricity Music)

My favorite part of the song says:   “Let your weary spirit rest, lay down what’s good and find what’s best…”

Just like Jesus explained to Martha, that Mary had chosen the better part.  Getting our kids to school and lessons and practices is good, keeping work appointments and other commitments is good, keeping the house clean and cooking meals is good, serving in our churches and communities is good.  All of these are good, but resting at God’s feet is best.

Take time out of your busy schedule this week and just breathe.  Put your phone down, turn off the TV, stop running around for a minute, and just be.  Chaos may call from the next room, but it can wait.  Sit and rest at His feet.  Listen for His voice.  My guess is that you will be blessed by what you find!

 


 

Thank you, Father God, for calling me to come and rest at your feet.  Chaos seems to reign in this season, but I want to lay down what’s good and find what’s best.  Help me to sit and rest at Your feet, and to just be.  Please speak to me in these quiet moments.  Reassure me of Your love and faithfulness, and show me how to serve you best.  I know that when I do this, everything else will fall into place.  Thank you for Your comforting that calms me down when my anxieties multiply.  Help me to remember to just breathe.  Thank you, Lord!

Leave a Reply

